Ok back to finishing up my thoughts on the conference and my time in San Diego.  It was a busy few days as I tried to squeeze in both conference attending and site-seeing which made for pretty full days.  I am just going to transcribe the notes I took with my trusty lo-fi notebook and pencil.

Working with Image Services and ArcGIS Server

I am starting out the morning looking into Image Services as it is something we have just begun to use for E2MS, in order to overlay nautical maps onto our base map.  First off,  sound is bad and I’m having trouble hearing the speakers.  I seem to be missing much of the explanations so I guess I’ll be going off of the slides for most of the session.

So the idea behind Image Services is to use a web service to serve up a raster image, which can then be use the same way as any other GIS service layer.   This was more of a tutorial talk, which showed:

  • image services in geoprocessing as raster data through making an image server layer tool
  • using image services in mobile applications though making a live connection to the image service
    • NOTE: if there is no live connection, either export from the image service or use a map cache containing the image service in the mxd

Showed a demo using image services in a web app, which utilizes the same qualities as the desktop apps.

  • REST and SOAP support modifying all image service layer properties
  • can create a mosaic
  • go to arcgis.com “my map” for more info showing the REST API
  • export image

Thoughts: I have used the online resource center offered through esri, but I am starting to realize I was using it all wrong.  There seems to be much more available than I initially thought and I was only using it for the forums.

ArcGIS Mobile – Using the ArcGIS Mobile SDK

This session was jam-packed! Actually all of the mobile session I have looked in on have been very popular…hmm wonder why 😉  We actually haven’t been able to get into mobile apps yet due to priorities and lack of resources, but it is something high in demand at EC.  Mostly handheld devices for field work, but also some mobile phone apps (ie during the olympics) so hopefully it will be involved in an upcoming project.

The session outlined the general components of ArcGIS mobile development. Notes are as follows:

  • everything covered concerning the Windows Moblie Application SDK with documentation is available at the online resource center and community.
  • Mobile apps are good for certain types of functions, you should design with this in mind and leave certain functionality to web apps and/or desktop apps.  Good for:
    • task driven procedures
    • data collection
    • map viewing
  • Mobile Positioning
    • custom mobile extension
    • ready-to use framework
  • Mobile apps have a small footprint in order to have high performance
    • this means the framework has limited functionality as it has a paired down library
  • Visual Studio 2008 support
  • Multiple Connectivity scenarios – you don’t need to be online
  • Mobile Geodatabase
    • scaled for field use
    • Multi-user
    • support of full geodatabase in the office
    • operational layer vs basemap layer requirements
      • permissions
      • global ID
      • versioned vs non-versioned

Thoughts: It’s obvious that this is where most of development is headed, especially due to the client interest.  It seems that the mobile framework will fit in nicely with the our already existing framework.  I will definitely try to squeeze in another Mobile session tomorrow.

After the final session I ran out of the conference to catch a ride to La Jolla for a surf lesson…my first time ever.  It turns out I am uncoordinated on both land AND water…so yeah, lose-lose situation.  It was still fun to get beat up by the waves for an hour and attempt to surf, although the bruises all over my body may lead you to believe otherwise 🙂

